Zodiac and the Tarot

imagesThe zodiac, literally “circle of animals”, consists of twelve signs in the heavens, each of which represents an area of the body, according to the ancient wisdom teachings.

  1. Aries represents the head and face.
  2. Taurus represents the neck and throat.
  3. Gemini represents the lungs, collar-bone, arms, hands.
  4. Cancer represents the breast, stomach.
  5. Leo represents sides, back, heart.
  6. Virgo represents the intestines.images
  7. Libra represents kidneys, loins, back.
  8. Scorpio represents the sex organs.
  9. Sagittarius represents the hips, thighs, liver.
  10. Capricorn represents the knees.
  11. Aquarius represents ankles, blood.
  12. Pisces represents the feet.

Also, each sign is ruled by a planet or luminary. It isn’t necessary for you to believe in astrology. Remember, you are just trying to become familiar with a symbolic language that has been used since antiquity in order to understand the astrological allusions on the cards. The rulings are as follows:

  1. Aries, the Ram, is ruled by Marsimgres
  2. Taurus, the Ox, is ruled by Venus
  3. Gemini, the Twins, is ruled by Mercury
  4. Cancer, the Crab, is ruled by The Moon
  5. Leo, the Lion, is ruled by The Sun
  6. Virgo, the Virgin, is ruled by Mercury
  7. Libra, the Balance, is ruled by Venus
  8. Scorpio, the Scorpion, is ruled by Mars
  9. Sagittarius, the Archer, is ruled by Jupiter
  10. Capricorn, the Goat, is ruled by Saturn
  11. Aquarius, the Waterbearer, is ruled by Uranus
  12. Pisces, the Fishes, is ruled by Neptune

In astrology the planets are strongest in the signs in which they rule. In the signs in which they are exalted they have their next greatest power. The following gives the exaltations of the planets:

  1. The Moon is exalted in Taurus
  2. Mercury is exalted in Virgo
  3. Venus is exalted in Pisces
  4. The Sun is exalted in Aries
  5. Mars is exalted in Capricorn
  6. Jupiter is exalted in Cancer
  7. Saturn is exalted in Libra
  8. Uranus is exalted in Scorpio
  9. Neptune is exalted in Leo

The lines which divide the twelve parts of the circle of the zodiac are called cusps.

As we begin to explore the symbols on the cards keep in mind that this wheel of the zodiac represents the circulation of the One Energy, also known as the Life-Force and the Love-Force, through all the channels of human expression.